Listening and why it’s vital

Crispin Nkya

MBA / Finance Student

Business Analysis Journal 

Listening is defined as the process of receiving, constructing meaning from responding to verbal and nonverbal messages. To be an effective leader one has to have the ability to listen and also actively respond thoughtfully to what others are saying using cues like nodding their heads or with follow up questions (Beebe & Mottet, 2016). According to research listening is a communication leadership that most people struggle with on the job, primarily due to the fact that most people are not taught how to listen (book)

Are you a good listener?

I’m learning to be a good listener since I was enrolled at a leadership program at work and has been something that my mentor has been discussing with me in the last few months. I have been more aware of what I hear, looking at nonverbal cues, listening to understand no just to respond express with the right verbal tones and adapt how I give my messages according to my audience which is practically following the  communication principles for effective leadership (Beebe & Mottet, 2016).

What body language do you see when you listen to others?

The body has a way in giving out what people are really feeling even if their verbal message is not saying it, so I always watch out for the voice, tone either low or high pitch, how people put more stress on some words to enhance the messages also how they move their hands and eyes when communicating with me or their audience.

How do you check to be sure you heard what was said?

To make sure If heard what was said, I usually have follow up questions to enhance clarity and increase participation with the other party. This creates a bond and trust between me and them because they know that I’m actively listening to understand their questions or concerns.

How do you feel you can improve as a listener at work and in your personal life?

To increase listening skills in my own personal life I need to slow down and think before I respond, I have noticed that I have been so quick to answer someone because I’m always listening to respond rather than to understand fully and respond thoughtfully. Through the various chapters of this book I’m starting to learn on why I sometimes fail to have productive conversations with some of my team members because I don’t listen to understand their questions thus I’m actually making difficult for both them and me.

Bibliography

Beebe, S. A., & Mottet, T. P. (2016). Business and Professional Communication. Boston, MA: Pearson Education.

Published by Spearpoint101

I'm a dad, winemaker and finance scholar who enjoys helping companies maximize their return of investment, by performing detailed requirements analysis, documenting processes, and performing some user acceptance testing. I love anything marketing and finance. I currently hold a bachelors in Business Administration/Finance and working on my MBA concentrating in Finance.

Leave a comment